Stingrays hockey is back! ECHL announces opening day

Rink rats rejoice! There will be hockey this year! The ECHL, in conjunction with the Professional Hockey Players’ Association (PHPA) has announced that the puck will drop for the 2020-21 season on December 11, 2020.

Using a split-season format, our South Carolina Stingrays will start a 72-games season along with Allen, Florida, Greenville, Indy, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Orlando, Rapid City, Tulsa, Utah, Wheeling and Wichita on December 11. The remaining ECHL teams will begin their season on January 15, 2021 and compete in a 62-game season upon jurisdictional approval. Only one team, the Atlanta Gladiators, have elected a voluntary suspension due to COVID-19 restrictions. They’ll return in the 2021-22 season and all of their players are immediately free agents for this season.

“The ECHL is excited to be able to confirm the beginning of the 2020-21 season by working with our local health officials and the PHPA to develop protocols for the safe return of our players, fans and employees,” said ECHL Commissioner Ryan Crelin. “The ECHL is getting back to hockey, as we all work together to bring live entertainment back to our communities.”

The ECHL regular season will conclude on June 6, 2021. A schedule for games from December 11, 2020 – January 14, 2021 will be announced in the near future. Using the new split-season, league standings will now be based on winning percentage during the regular season. For all the latest news and updates, follow the Stingrays on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.